Makeup

Everyday Makeup Look

When it comes to makeup I take the same approach I do with everything in life, mix all the things I’ve learned from my third culture kid background and hope it turns out okay! By third culture kid, I mean that I didn’t really grow up in just one place. In Belgium, the women didn’t really use too much makeup, but when I moved to America I felt extremely dressed down makeup wise compared to the girls that had been perfecting their makeup since middle school or younger.

I got a pretty late start on things and learned that even though I was surrounded by seemingly flawless makeup queens, I just couldn’t force myself to put on a whole face of makeup. Granted, I do like to have a lot of products and it seems like I use a lot, but in all honesty, if you saw how much of the product I use you’d see where I’m coming from.

As you all know, makeup ain’t cheap! But in my opinion sometimes drug store makeup just doesn’t cut it, so the alternative for me is to buy travel sized stuff, or the kits you get from the Sephora or Ulta that have five or six mini testers in them. If I love a product, I’ll save up and buy the full size, but if I don’t love it, at least I only spent like 10 bucks on it.

D2674F8F-7EE7-4BD0-9E32-A7EB3A8CF353

I’ve been testing out tons of different products and finally have found a little routine that is super natural (my favourite) but comes together really well! So if you want to see how I got this subtle dewy look, keep scrolling!

all makeup

First things first, PRIMER!

I’ve been obsessed with the too faced HangoveRX primer, it’s super moisturizing and doesn’t mattify your foundation or BB cream at all.

face makeup

Now for the good stuff, my holy grail (and I mean the holiest of the holiest) is Laura Mercier’s illuminating tinted moisturizer. I emphasize illuminating because it literally makes you look angelic, and I’m assuming that the reason that people don’t talk about it too much is that it doesn’t provide full coverage. I like to mix in the smallest amount of the Born This Way foundation by Too Faced, but only in the problem areas of my face, so mainly around the nose where I get red, and then wherever I may have a blemish or two. (Or five if it’s that time of the month). I have not once in my life been able to wear a full face of foundation, but if you like full coverage and don’t like a sheer moisturizer then I would definitely recommend using more of the Born This Way than the Laura Mercier.

I like to mix in the smallest amount of the Born This Way foundation by Too Faced, but only in the problem areas of my face, so mainly around the nose where I get red, and then wherever I may have a blemish or two. (Or five if it’s that time of the month). I have not once in my life been able to wear a full face of foundation, but if you like full coverage and don’t like a sheer moisturizer then I would definitely recommend using more of the Born This Way than the Laura Mercier.

For Concealer I have found that Neutrogena’s true match is extremely buildable, so if I have a pimple that just doesn’t want to be covered, this stuff definitely works. Not to mention it’s super cheap compared to some of the other concealers out there that do the same job!

eyes

Next up is eye’s, and don’t judge me if I do my things in the completely wrong order. Again, first things first, prime your lids! I use Elf’s eyelid primer, it does the job and it’s only 2 dollars if I remember correctly. I have been obsessed with Too Face’s newish palette, Sweet Peach. I like to use White Peach for a highlight on my brow bone, then I use Bellini as a lid shade and I add a little bit of Peach Pit in my crease and blend blend blend

For mascara (my favourite part) I always get travel sized because I get so bored of mascaras so fast and always like to try out new ones. Right now I am loving Bare Minerals Lash Domination, a cult favourite, it really spreads your lashes apart aôd gives them great length. Next, I go in with a volumizing mascara and I don’t think I’ve ever tried a better one than Monsieur Big by Lancôme, this one I am definitely going to get in full size once it comes back in stock near me.

cheeks

I bought Hoola bronzer by Too Faced in the travel size and loved it so much that I got the full size, it’s definitely my favourite bronzer that I have ever used. I just got a kit which included the Rockateur blush and I have been loving it, it’s perfect for a golden skin tone.

I tend to have a hard time finding a highlighter that really works for me, I feel like the majority of the time they just kind of blend into my skin and don’t really pop at all, and if I’m honest Watts Up definitely is a highlighter that doesn’t pop for me. I love it for a daytime look, it gives a tiny bit of radiance, but the search for a new highlighter is still on!

The next step I like to do if I am going to be needing my makeup to last for a long time, I lock all the makeup in with a Mineral Veil by BareMinerals in the shade Hydrating.

I am extremely shy when it comes to wearing lipstick, my lips are pretty well rounded and when I wear a bold lipstick I feel like it takes over my whole face. But I found a lipstick that I want to wear for every occasion! This product is amazing, it’s a lipstick and a lip liner in one and it definitely works. It’s the Benefit They’re Real! Double the Lip in the shade Pink Thrills.

Comment down below if you have any suggestions for people who love natural dewy looks, or suggestions for a perfect highlighter for someone with a golden tan skin tone!

2 thoughts on “Everyday Makeup Look

Leave a Reply

