Travel

My Favourite Euro Spots

It’s impossible not to post 50+ different spots in Europe that I fell in love with over the 16 years I spent there. However, I thought it would be nice to share some of my favourite more recent locations that I got to spend some time in.

89CA0447-FA06-43DF-A4E5-5279B45CBC00

Madrid.

This place was absolutely magical. I got to spend my 21st birthday roaming the streets of this Spanish city. The thing I found the most interesting about Spanish culture is that the kids my age weren’t starting to party until 1 AM, mind you after a full day of travelling when 1 AM rolled around I was ready to pass out. Needless to say, I spent the one birthday made for drinking, sleeping very cozily in a little Spanish apartment we rented through Airbnb. My favourite place to see in Madrid is the Museo Reina Sofia, the vendors outside of the museum have beautiful (and cheap) handcrafted jewellery that I always love to peruse. But the best thing about this place is the gardens, I am a sucker for beautiful parks.

C6CA48FF-8522-497E-B730-C78B67A028B6

Berlin.

I lived in Germany for two years and picked up very little German, the language is a little too similar to the Flemish language of Belgium and it confused me too much. Berlin was an amazing experience, the food was delicious, the city was beautiful and unbelievably clean but also had a lot of art like the one in this picture. It was definitely a fun place to explore with my family! My favourite spot was Potsdamer Platz, it includes a lot of pieces of the Berlin wall with loads of beautiful graffiti.

E4082D83-F585-4B19-AA14-0DFD950889B5

Antwerp.

I am biased as this is a Belgian town, however, you can’t deny the cities beauty. Antwerp was my favourite place to escape to when the busy streets of Brussels got to be too much. It has great shopping and amazing restaurants in the downtown area. My favourite spot to eat at is the Godevaart on Sint-Katelijnevest, not only do they provide you with amazing food but the atmosphere is to die for.

CE692584-6B5D-400F-8BC4-2A0644BED38D

Amsterdam.

Last but not least is the Dam, my absolute favourite place to be in Europe. Holland is the country I always wanted to live in, I fell head over heels for Dutch culture. From their language to their food (I don’t know if you can tell but I am definitely a foodie), what’s not to love about this country? My favourite thing about Amsterdam is definitely the boutiques; if you walk straight from Centrum towards Speigelgracht you will see tons of beautiful boutiques and little cafes that you should definitely stop and get Poffertjes.

I understand that travelling is very expensive and for some, it may seem unattainable, but to that, I say save up, and instead of buying a ton of new clothes or your most coveted new electronics, try and get out more! Travelling is one of the best experiences that you can ever have and it is absolutely priceless to be able to immerse yourself in other cultures. I am aiming to travel a lot more now that I live in a HUGE country with beautiful destinations, what are some of your favourite places to travel?

 

Leave a Reply

