Uncategorized

Budget Eating: Couscous Burrito Bowl

 

bozwl 1

Growing up in Belgium, I’ve always had a European touch to all my meals. My mother loved to cook and would always try and recreate recipes from other countries, and for that I thank her. Because without that curiosity I wouldn’t have discovered Maghreb food, this cuisine includes foods from Morroco, Algeria, and Tunisia. These cultures were always very prevalent in my life seeing as I spent most of my younger years living in a district with first generation immigrants from those parts.

cous cous.jpg

Out of all of the amazing dishes that I had the blessing to try, Couscous always stood out to me. So when I decided to try and mix my Hispanic roots with my European influence I think I stumbled upon my next favourite guilty pleasure. Below you will find the recipe to a simple, yet deliciously filling, the Couscous Burrito Bowl. (p.s. ignore my messy house as I am moving out

FullSizeRender

What You Need:

1/3 cup of couscous

1/2 cup of water

3 tsp of olive oil

pinch of salt

1 Roma tomato

1/2 avocado

2 slices of lime

1 small green pepper

1/3 cup of black beans

1/3 cup of corn

1 chicken breast

creole seasoning

mexican cheese

How to make it:

Rub chicken breast with creole seasoning, about 1 tbsp worth.

Cook chicken at 425 F, 10 minutes on one side, flip, and 10 minutes on the next.

In a medium sauce pan combine the water and oil and bring it to a boil. Stir in the couscous and remove the saucepan from the heat. Cover and let it sit for 5 minutes. Easy peasy!

Cut up bell pepper and sautée with a little oil and about 1/3 a cup of water.

After the bell pepper is sautéed, add the beans and corn to the pan and cook them until warm.

As the chicken is cooking cut up the avocado, tomato, and the lime, add couscous to a bowl and set up the vegetables however you’d like. I just tried to set it up for a nice picture but all that stuff ended up getting mixed together.

Once cooked slice chicken thinly and add sautéed bell pepper, beans, and corn, to the bowl, squeeze the lime, add a little salt and pepper, and sprinkle some cheese, and you are golden!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

